My name is Polly. I am 72 years old.

I am camped at Occupy Bristol for these reasons:

I have a passion for the planet which is being damaged by corporate greed.

I refuse to live in a cold house relying on electricity for heating. I am being held to ransom by the power generating companies.

Cameron says we are all in this together. We are not. I am not a millionaire. I do not have a partner who is a millionaire. They do not have to chose between eating and heating. I am warmer and more comfortable camping near a warm fire.

One thought on “My name is Polly. I am 72 years old.

  1. Hi Polly,

    You are absolutely right about corporate greed fuelling environmental destruction. On the issue of energy though, while I agree that the electricity companies are making huge profits from ramping up energy prices, right at the bottom of this is oil depletion. New sources are becoming harder to find and extract in a phenomenon generally called ‘Peak oil’, this is why the UK needs to switch to renewable energy with the utmost haste. One thing that could be done in this respect is that the council could start a programme of installing solar PV panels on its social housing stock and for those with greatest need. Other local authorities and social housing providers are starting to do this right across the country as it’s the perfect answer to fuel poverty. I am loosely involved with Bristol’s Green Capital initiative although I am not sure what the council’s position is at the moment on provision of solar PV, but I’ll try and find out. If anyone else knows, please feel free to let us know…

Leave a Reply

